top of page

B R E A T H //

I was looking for a breath of life // A little touch of heavenly light But all the choirs in my head sang no // To get a dream of life again A little of vision of the start and the end // But all the choirs in my head sang no

But I only needed one more touch // Another taste of heavenly rush

And the fever began to spread // From my heart down to my legs But the room was so quiet oh // And although I wasn't losing my mind It was a chorus so sublime // But the room is too quiet

I was looking for a breath of life // A little touch of heavenly light

// f l o r e n c e & t h e m a c h i n e

 

My favorite thing when I'm running, is breathing // Or any activity for that matter.

Seems humorous to say, but i've often found myself getting caught up in tasks and to do's, when all of the sudden I give a deep sigh, almost as if my body was reminding me:

"MUST... HAVE... OXYGEN"

Thank God for the yoga and pilate's instructors who, every few second, say "and breathe".

I'm guessing they do that because i'm not the only person who forgets to breathe now and then.

breath is necessary for life.

I love the creation account in the Bible, where it says //

"God formed the man of dust from the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life,

and the man became a living creature."

It's quite obvious we need oxygen to breathe, and the romantic in me likes to believe that every breath is a continuation of the breath of God.

When I meditate on that thought, I notice my chest rising and falling, my ribs expanding and decompressing, and a rush of blood to my head as my heart rate comes to a slowed pace.

& I hear Him say "live with intention, for it's with intention I give you life"

as long as there is breath in my lungs, I will live for Him.


bottom of page