top of page

COME TO THE TABLE //


There are two popular stories of Jesus eating at a table, the most popular being "the Lord's Supper".

// When it was evening, he reclined at table with the twelve. And as they were eating, he said,

“Truly, I say to you, one of you will betray me."

The other when Jesus was "caught" eating with "sinners"

//As Jesus reclined at table in the house, many tax collectors and sinners came and were reclining with Jesus and his disciples. And when the Pharisees (religious leaders) saw this, they said to his disciples, “Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?

//But when he heard it, Jesus said,

“Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. Go and learn what this means, ‘I desire mercy, and not sacrifice.’ For I came not to call the righteous, but sinners.”

I see a beautiful display of affection in the two meals, in His authenticity, Jesus has called these people to follow him, shares many meals with them, knowing one of them is going to betray him...

// And yet, he continues to dine with them.

There is something spectacular about who we invite to the table to eat with us. I'm pretty sure that sharing a meal is the purest form of all the love languages: A family style meal involves:

// quality time

//physical touch

//giving

//words of affirmation

//acts of service

I don't really want to take time to show how it's true for each one, but I see it in the meals I have shared with my family, friends, and homes across the world. Inviting someone to the table, I believe, has a massive heart impact. Especially for someone who claims to know Jesus, I see now a pure demonstration of Jesus' love is to say to someone, as He says to us all:

// COME TO THE TABLE


bottom of page